Moving Pepperdine Forward

The Advancement Team supports Pepperdine's rise in prominence

The Pepperdine Advancement Team

Front row (from left to right): Lou Drobnick, RonaldPhillips, Helen M Young, Charles Runnels, Israel Rodriguez, Michael Warder
Second Row (from left to right): Sara Jackson, Catherine Kort, Avesta Carrara, D'Laine Lyons, Claudia Arnold, Ann Kratz
Third Row (from left to right): Chris Sangster, Stacy Taylor, Dawn Petterson, Debi Klein, Michelle French, Patty Atkisson, Nicole Hall, Keith Hinkle
Top Row (from left to right): Jonathan Kemp, Jere Yates, Curt Portzel, Michael Berry, Sam Lagana

The dedicated professionals who make up the Advancement team at Pepperdine possess an unabashed enthusiasm for sharing the University's dreams with friends who care passionately about Pepperdine's future. The Advancement team is focused on maximizing Pepperdine's potential and its impact as a Christian institution of higher education. The staff works diligently to articulate the University's long-term dreams and aspirations, while securing funds to meet annual operational needs.

Advancement is a collaborative, ongoing effort to support Pepperdine’s rise in prominence among the most well-known and respected universities in America. A national search to select executive leadership for the Advancement team continues, along with tremendous progress and forward momentum. Under the interim leadership of President Andrew K. Benton and other senior advancement officers, fiscal year 2005 has been a year of significant growth and achievement.

Highlighting just a few of the extraordinary people who helped Pepperdine University realize dreams within the last fiscal year, we want to thank these individuals whose passion for the University’s mission is exemplary.

The Pepperdine community honored the late M. Norvel Young and his wife, Helen M. Young, by dedicating the M. Norvel and Helen M. Young Center a few hours after the September 2005 Founder’s Day ceremony. At that time, the Graduate School of Education and Psychology Drescher Graduate Campus building was officially named for the University’s third president and second chancellor, and his beloved wife, who founded the Associated Women for Pepperdine (AWP). This extraordinary couple gave decades of service to the University and Mrs. Young continues her encouragement and support as a Life Regent. The 6,975-square-foot, state-of-the-art facility will ensure that the Youngs will be forever remembered as central figures in the proud history of Pepperdine.

Sharon and Terry Mullin are counted among the University’s closest friends and ardent supporters.  They are committed to helping young people receive an education that celebrates ethical conduct, character development, and faith, in addition to essential qualities one might expect from a superior academic institution.

Also noteworthy, Leon and the late Margaret Rockwell provided a major legacy to Pepperdine honoring their family by funding several academic and residential facilities on the Malibu Campus. The University was pleased to acknowledge their most recent gift, the Margaret M. Rockwell Student Dining Center, designed as a place of fellowship and reprieve for students, staff, and faculty, located in the heart of the Drescher Graduate Campus. This dining center will long memorialize the nurturing and family-centered spirit of Dr. Rockwell’s beloved wife, Margaret.

In lasting honor to their cherished five children and grandchildren, Phyllis and Angelo R. Mozilo named the Mozilo Family Executive Dining Center in Villa Graziado. Their generous gift demonstrates the Mozilos’ ongoing commitment to the George L. Graziadio School of Business and Management and the Executive Center.

The generous commitments of these and all of Pepperdine’s special friends and benefactors, ensures that the legacy of George Pepperdine will be passed on to future generations.