2005 In Review

Seaver College

Sports Medicine Degree Launched

A newly created bachelor of arts degree has been added to the sports medicine program. Endorsed by the American College of Sports Medicine, the new degree is designed for students seeking employment in the fitness, health-promotion, wellness, or clinical exercise professions.

National Science Foundation Grants Continue

In campus science laboratories, Seaver continues to receive multi-year grants from the National Science Foundation. The most recent one will fund “REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Biology: Cellular Stress Physiology,” conducted by Natural Science Division professors Jay Brewster, Steve Davis, Michael Folkerts, Donna Nofziger Plank, and Doug Swartzendruber.

Faculty Publications—A Sample of Recent Efforts

John F. Wilson, Seaver professor and director of the Institute for the Study of Archaeology and Religion, published a book titled, Caesarea Philippi, the first comprehensive history of this ancient city.

Many other full-time Seaver faculty members have published books in the past fiscal year, including Cyndia S. Clegg, The Peaceable and Prosperous Regiment of Blessed Queene: Elisabeth; Alexander C. Diener, Homeland Conceptions and Ethnic Integration Among Kazakhstan’s Germans and Koreans; Phillip B. Thomason, El Coliseo De La Cruz, 1736-1860; and Stanley Warford for the computer science textbook, Computer Systems, (3rd Edition).

Endowed Scholarships

Seaver College established four newly-named endowed professorships: Priscilla MacRae, the Frank R. Seaver Professor in Natural Science; Victoria Myers, the Blanche E. Seaver Professor in Humanities; Steve Rouse, the Frank R. Seaver Professor in Natural Science; and Henry Price, the Blanche E. Seaver Professor in Fine Arts.

Songfest Performers

Songfest Performers

Songfest Tradition Continues

Every spring, students from both Greek and non-Greek groups come together to put on a musical extravaganza that has become a Pepperdine tradition since 1953: Songfest. The 2005 show called Patent Pending, was about inventiveness, design, creativity, imagination, and engineering. It was the largest Songfest in more than a decade with more than 350 students, faculty, and staff participating.

Tenure-track Positions

Nine tenure-track faculty members were appointed in the 2004-05 academic year, three from underrepresented minorities, and four of whom are women.

Music Man Delights Audiences

As part of the Mary Pickford-Stotsenberg Performances Series, the Pepperdine Fine Arts Division Theatre Department presented Meredith Willson’s The Music Man as its Fall 2004 musical at the Malibu campus’ Smothers Theatre during November. The two lead actors were Tanner Redman and Christin Wismann.

Dale Chihuly exhibit at the Weisman Museum

Chihuly exhibit at the Weisman

Chihuly Tops Weisman’s Attendance Records

Pepperdine’s Frederick R. Weisman Museum concluded its most well-attended exhibition in history with an exhibit featuring the world renowned glass art of Dale Chihuly. The exhibit attracted a diverse audience of almost 32,000 elementary schoolchildren, high school students, and people from all age groups and backgrounds, many of whom were first-time visitors to Pepperdine.

Professor Caldwell Joins Advisory Council

The president and chairman of the board of directors for the Council on Foreign Relations in New York invited Seaver College Professor Dan Caldwell to join its Chairman’s Advisory Council. The Distinguished Professor of Political Science will help oversee a number of the council’s programs and activities.

Seaver Dean Recognizes Exemplary Staff

The annual Dean’s Staff Service Awards honored a dozen staff members for such characteristics as teamwork, dedication, competence, and cheerful attitudes. The award winners in fiscal year 2005 are: Rosa Aguila and Silvano Espinosa, Pepperdine Dining Services; Nan Bartlett, Payson Library; Sampson Brue and Gilbert Fernandez, Public Safety; Dennis Dalrymple, Information Technology; Carl Flynn, Student Information and Services; Carlos Meneses and Tim James, Transit Services; Lauren Joyce, Student Disability Services; Leon Martinez, Facilities Management and Planning; and Wendy Power, Student Activities and Leadership Development.