Academic Deans
Kenneth W. Starr, W. David Baird, Margaret J. Weber, Linda A. Livingstone, James R. Wilburn

Kenneth W. Starr, W. David Baird, Margaret J. Weber, Linda A. Livingstone, James R. Wilburn


Dean, Seaver College

After nearly 10 years as the highly regarded dean of Seaver College, David Baird is currently serving his last year in this top leadership position, though he will continue on in his professorial role. David began his service to Pepperdine in 1988 as the Howard A. White Chair of History. He served a four-year term as the chair of the Humanities and Teacher Education Division before becoming dean in 1998. In 2007, David was elected as a member of the Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame by the Oklahoma Historical Society. He is currently serving a three-year appointment as a member of the Gibson Prize Committee, an organization that offers awards for essays on the history of Native Americans.


Dean, Graziadio School of Business and Management

Pepperdine recently announced the reappointment of Linda Livingstone as dean of the Graziadio School of Business and Management for a second five-year term. Linda has served as the first woman dean of the Graziadio School since June 2002. During her tenure, she has overseen a $200 million expansion of the business school's regional campuses and the opening of the 50-acre Drescher Graduate Campus. Linda has sought to hire and support faculty committed to teaching excellence, quality scholarship, and the University's Christian mission. Under her leadership, the school has initiated a faculty sabbatical program; the Denney Academic Chair; the Julian Virtue Professorship; and the Rothschild Award to facilitate increased emphasis on applied and relevant academic research.


Dean, School of Law

Ken Starr has served as dean and professor of law at the School of Law since 2004, after a long and distinguished career as a lawyer and judge. Recently he was recognized as one of America's preeminent legal figures during a ceremony at the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, where a portrait of him will remain on view permanently, joining the images of acclaimed judges who have served on that same court. Since coming to Pepperdine, Ken has strengthened the School of Law's reputation and classroom experience by attracting nationally recognized scholars and professors from around the country. This past year, Ken became the first School of Law dean to hold the Duane and Kelly Roberts Dean's Chair.


Dean, Graduate School of Education and Psychology

Since being named dean of the Graduate School of Education and Psychology in 2001, Margaret Weber has brought to Pepperdine a distinguished background in research, teaching, and administration. Margaret has a strong belief in faculty development and program innovation, and has spearheaded a number of GSEP programs including the Urban Initiatives program and the Diversity Council. As part of her scholarly work, she has published articles on such topics as multicultural leadership and diversity; defining scholarship, mentoring, and the socialization of graduate students; and the value of investment in faculty. In 2006, Margaret participated in the fourth annual session on Women's Leadership at Exeter College of the University of Oxford, where she presented "Leadership Perspectives: Faith Influences on Women."


Dean, School of Public Policy

The School of Public Policy celebrated its 10th anniversary this year. Under the leadership of founding dean, James Wilburn, the School of Public Policy has rapidly gained national and international attention. With a long history at Pepperdine, including serving as the dean of the business school for many years, Jim has been instrumental in recruiting dedicated faculty of the highest caliber. Jim recently announced that widely acclaimed author Os Guinness will be the William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professor for 2008. Also essential to the school's success has been Jim's dedication to maintaining one of the most robust extracurricular lineups of practitioners and established scholars in the nation.