Skip Navigation

Office of the Provost

2005 University Faculty Conference

This year’s conference will feature three distinguished plenary speakers:

John Polkinghorne, FRS, KBE

John PolkinghorneDr. Polkinghorne is an internationally known scientist (particle theory), 2002 Templeton prize winner, past president of Queen's College, Cambridge University, and former Professor of Mathematical Physics at Cambridge. Dr. Polkinghorne is also a Canon Theologian of Liverpool Cathedral. He is the author of many books, including One World (1986), Science and Creation (1988), Science and Providence (1989), his Gifford Lectures, Reason and Reality (1991), and The Faith of a Physicist (1994). Queen Elizabeth knighted Dr. Polkinghorne in 1997. Dr. Polkinghorne is also a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS) and founding president of the International Society for Science and Religion.

Lee Shulman

Lee ShulmanDr. Shulman is the 8th president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the first Charles E. Ducommun Professor (by courtesy) of Education and Professor of Psychology at Stanford University. He was previously Professor of Educational Psychology and Medical Education at Michigan State University, serving as a member of that faculty from 1963 to 1982. Dr. Shulman is past president of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) and was recipient of the 1995 E. L. Thorndike Award for Distinguished Psychological Contributions to Education given by the APA’s Division of Educational Psychology. Shulman’s research has dealt with an array of themes important to higher education, including the study of teaching and teacher education; assessment; medical education; and the quality of teaching in higher education. His books include Issues in Education and Research: Problems and Possibilities (1999) and Ways of Thinking, Ways of Teaching (1999).

Julia Kasdorf

Julia KasdorfProfessor Kasdorf  is a poet, essayist, and director of the MFA program in writing at Pennsylvania State University. Professor Kasdorf’s poems have appeared in The New Yorker, The Paris Review, Poetry, and numerous anthologies, including the 2003 Pushcart collection. Her books include Eve’s Striptease (1998), The Body and the Book: Writing from a Mennonite Life, 1991-1999 (2001), and Fixing Tradition: Joseph W. Yoder, Amish American (2003). Professor Kasdorf was educated at Goshen College and New York University. She is recipient of the Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize and the Great Lakes Colleges Award for New Writing. The Body and the Book won the Book of the Year Award from the Conference on Christianity and Literature.