Director in Residence

Past directors-in-residence:

Joseph Sargent

Institute for Entertainment, Media, and Culture director Joseph Sargent - Pepperdine UniversityFour-time Emmy winner, Joseph Sargent, was IEMC's first distinguished director-in-residence.

Joseph Sargent Montage - career

Joseph & Carolyn Sargent, "Ordinary Miracle" by Tom Sullivan

Joseph Sargent Memorial - celebrating family and lifelong friendships that Joe and Carolyn shared

Joseph Sargent began as an actor studying at the legendary Actors' Studio in New York City. He gained experience directing episodes of seminal TV series like Gunsmoke, Bonanza, Lassie, The Fugitive, The Man from U.N.C.L.E. and Star Trek. He won his first Emmy directing the pilot episode of Kojak, "The Marcus-Nelson Murders." He crossed over into feature films directing the original Taking of Pelham One Two Three starring Walter Matthau and Robert Show and MacArthur starring Gregory Peck. He has been nominated for nine Emmys, winning four times for Outstanding Directing. Amongst the Emmy-winning performances he has directed, Vanessa Redgrave and Jane Alexander in the Auschwitz story, Playing for Time, Amanda Plummer in Miss Rose White, and Alfre Woodard in Miss Ever's Boys.

Working into his 80s, Sargent's recent projects won Emmy as Outstanding Made for Television Movie, including HBO's Something the Lord Made starring Alan Rickman and Mos Def as pioneering heart surgeons. The docudrama also won a Peabody Award, a DGA Award, and an NAACP Image Award in 2004. Kenneth Branagh portrayed President Franklin Roosevelt in Warm Springs, which also won Emmys for Outstanding Art Direction, Music Composition, and Sound Mixing.

Sargent's films have won Golden Globes, the Humanitas Prize, ALMA Awards and Writers Guild Awards. Actors he has directed include Kathy Bates, Beau Bridges, Pierce Brosnan, Michael Caine, Don Cheadle, Glenn Close, Jeff Daniels, Jose Ferrer, Sally Field, Laurence Fishburne, Andy Garcia, James Garner, Neil Patrick Harris, Gregory Hines, James Earl Jones, Ben Kingsley, Christine Lahti, Jessica Lange, Angela Lansbury, John Lithgow, Marlee Matlin, Leonard Nimoy, Edward James Olmos, Sidney Poitier, Jason Robards, Eva Marie Saint, Kyra Sedgwick, Sissy Spacek, Cicely Tyson, and Christopher Walken.

He was previously senior filmmaker-in-residence at the American Film Institute.

Duwayne Dunham

dunhamDuwayne Dunham has won an Emmy award for outstanding editing on Twin Peaks and was nominated for a DGA award in 1995 for outstanding directorial achievement in children's programs for the made-for-TV movie Tiger Cruise (2004). Before becoming an accomplished director, Dunham worked as an assistant editor and editor for over two decades on such films as More American Graffiti (1979); The Empire Strikes Back (1980); Return of the Jedi (1983); and Blue Velvet (1986).

Dunham made the transition to director in 1990, directing his first episode of the acclaimed television series, Twin Peaks, and later went on to direct the feature films, Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey (1993) and Little Giants (1994), as well as numerous series such as 7th Heaven, JAG, and Star Wars: The Clone Wars.