Facebook pixel Pepperdine Athletics the Year in Review | Pepperdine Magazine | Summer 2010 Skip to main content
Pepperdine University
Waves mens diving team - Pepperdine University

Pepperdine Athletics the Year in Review

When the final whistle blew on the last game of the 2009-2010 athletic season, the Pepperdine Waves concluded another successful year of strength and agility, intricate teamwork, and national recognition.

The Waves finished the season with three West Coast Conference (WCC) championships; two championship-winning coaches—Laurie Gibb and Adam Steinberg—named Coach of the Year by the WCC; and eight student-athletes distinguished with All-American honors.

I'm always amazed by the success of our teams," says John Watson, director of athletics. "Our coaches and student-athletes find ways to give their all, and their commitment and hard work is evident every day."

It was a winning year for golf, with the men's team earning their 17th WCC Championship victory and placing seventh at the NCAA South Central Regional. The women took home their ninth consecutive championship, earning coach Laurie Gibbs her 10th Coach of the Year award. Men's tennis completed the Waves trio of champions, as coach Adam Steinberg led his team to their 20th consecutive—and 41st overall—championship victory. The WCC recognized Steinberg as Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his career.

The 2009-2010 men's golf team - Pepperdine Magazine

The 2009-2010 men's golf team

Woman Golfer - Pepperdine Magazine Notable achievements by this season's athletes include junior diver Tiffany Martz's First Place three-meter diving victory at the PCSC championships in February, men's tennis star Bassam Beidas being named the Player of the Year by the WCC, and his teammate Sebastian Fanselow being named Freshman of the Year.

Men and women's track teams both enjoyed a record-making year. Distance runner Wesley Blundell set the school 10-kilometer record at 32:13 and fellow freshman Sean King set the school 800-meter record at 1:55.33. On the women's side, junior Aneka Myles broke her own record in the shot put (35-9), while junior Chelsea Wishard set new school records in the 1,500 (4:39.35) and 3,000 (10:04.01).

While the 2009-2010 sports season was winding down, Pepperdine held its third annual Student-Athlete Honors Dinner to award distinguished senior players. Baseballer Matt Bywater took home Male Athlete of the Year, while basketball center Miranda Ayim was named the Female Athlete of the Year after a high-profile year on the court (see page 40 for more on Ayim). Male Scholar-Athlete recognition went to golf standout Shane Mason, while soccer star Kelly Reilly finished the year as Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Finally middle blocker volleyball player Tyler Jaynes was named Male "Wave of the Year" and libero volleyballer Krista Friedman was honored as the Female "Wave of the Year."

Athletics director Watson cites the Honors Dinner as one of his personal highlights from the year. "The young people who came to the stage had dedicated four and five years to Pepperdine and their sport. When I looked at them preparing to graduate, I was very proud," says Watson.

For a full review of the athletic year, visit magazine. pepperdine.edu/waves-year-in-review.