41st Annual Pepperdine Associates Dinner | Pepperdine Associates Dinner | Pepperdine University

41st Annual Pepperdine Associates Dinner

Pepperdine Associates Dinner 2017 Theme Graphic - Pepperdine University 

Tickets on Sale Now

Robert Gates headshot - Pepperdine University

Featured Speaker

Robert Gates
Chancellor of the College of William & Mary
United States Secretary of Defense (2006-2011)

Saturday, April 8, 2017

6 PM Reception
7 PM Dinner

Beverly Wilshire, Beverly Hills

9500 Wilshire Boulevard
Beverly Hills, California

Black Tie Optional | Questions: 310.506.4115

Convicted Civility

Religious scholar Martin Marty once famously wrote, "People who have strong convictions are often not very civil, and people who are civil often do not have strong convictions." These words resonated deeply with his contemporary Richard Mouw, who recognized the need for passionate intensity as well as gentle peacefulness in a phrase he coined as "convicted civility." Holding both conviction and civility, Mouw contended, is integral in civil discourse, and both serve as the banner under which faith is brought into public life.

Robert Gates has spent his career bringing diverse groups of people together and finding common ground through dialogue. As the former United States secretary of defense, and the first in U.S. history to be asked to remain in that office under a newly elected president, Gates is widely viewed as a champion of bipartisanship, compromise, service, and diplomacy.  Now the chancellor of the College of William & Mary, Gates is advancing those same virtues of civility in higher education, recognizing that we are a society fortified by the strength found in our differences and that, in order for us to succeed, we must always come together.

Join us April 8 as Dr. Gates shares lessons from his storied career and explores the values of courage, sacrifice, and accord that will move our nation forward.