Facebook pixel Meet the 2020 Outstanding Alumni in Healthcare Honorees | Pepperdine University Skip to main content
Pepperdine University
Outstanding Alumni in Healthcare logo

Meet the 2020 Outstanding Alumni in Healthcare Honorees

From physicians and first responders to nurses and caretakers to biotech leaders, public health advisors, and mental wellness warriors, inspiring Pepperdine alumni are imagining patient care beyond traditional methods, challenging industry norms, and shifting strategies in an industry that continues to evolve. Selected from a diverse group of Pepperdine healthcare professionals who were nominated by their friends, family, and peers, discover how these 34 Waves approach the meaning of healthcare and the role they play in redefining how it will have an impact on generations to come. 

Ryan Arnold
Ryan Arnold ('98)

Emergency Medicine Physician

Cottage Health



Martha Bernadett
Martha Molina Bernadett (MBA '01, PKE 105)

Chief Executive Officer and Board Chair

The Molina Foundation


Steve Bilt
Steve Bilt (MBA '01, PKE 106)

Chief Executive Officer

Smile Brands, Inc


Jeffrey Brookman
Jeffrey Brookman ('72)


Veterans Administration Healthcare of Southern Nevada

Thema Bryant Davis
Thema Bryant-Davis (MDiv '16)

Professor of Psychology

Pepperdine Graduate School of Education and Psychology

Katherine Cahill Niederer
Katherine Niederer Cahill ('03)

Assistant Professor/Medical Director of Clinical Asthma Research

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Lori Cardle
Lori Cardle (EMBA '13)

Senior Vice President/Chief Operating Officer

Valley Presbyterian Hospital

William Dougherty
William Dougherty ('92)

Chief Information Security Officer

Omada Health, Inc.

Nicole Durden
Nicole Durden (MPP '07)

Chief Operating Officer


Michael Edelstein
Michael M. Edelstein (MBA '88)

Retired Radiologist and Nuclear Medicine Physician

Michael M. Edelstein, M.D.

Shawn Farrokhi
Shawn Farrokhi ('00)

Facility Research Director

Department of Defense, Veterans Administration Extremity Trauma and Amputation Center of Excellence

David Feinberg
David Feinberg (MBA '02, PKE 107)

Head of Google Health


Thomas Fessler
Thomas A. Fessler (JD '83)

Chief Legal Office and General Counsel

VSP Global

John Figueroa
John Figueroa (MBA '97)

Chief Executive Officer/Chairman


Paul Giboney
Paul Giboney ('92)

Associate Chief Medical Officer

Los Angeles County Department of Health

Jean Hartley
Jean Hartley ('16)

Registered Nurse

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Lucille Packard Children's Hospital 

David Hebert
David Hebert (JD '82)

Chief Executive Officer

American Association of Nurse Practitioners

Nancy Hunter
Nancy C. Hunter (MBA '06)

Head of Commercial

Bluebird Bio GmbH

Timothy Jang
Timothy B. Jang ('93, '95)

Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine

Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

Elan Javanfard
Elan Javanfard (MA '13)

Associate Director of Residential and Substance Use Services

Didi Hirsch Mental Health Services

Joy Jones
Joy Jones (MBA '18, PKE 139)


UCLA, Greater Los Angeles Veterans Administration Medical Center

Kyle Keojampa
Bounmany Kyle Keojampa ('01)

Facial Plastic Surgeon/Craniofacial Surgeon

Keojampa MD Facial Plastic Surgery

Anahita Kia
Anahita Kia (JD '02, MA '12)

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist/Adjunct Professor of Psychology/Clinical Supervisor

Self-Employed/Pepperdine University/Pepperdine Graduate School of Education and Psychology/Pepperdine Community Counseling Center in Encino

Brandon Lee
Brandon Lee ('09)

Chief of Emergency Medicine/Emergency Physician

Weed Army Community Hospital and Southern California Permenante Medical Group

Beth Lopez
Beth A. Lopez (EMBA '13)

Director of Ambulatory Care Services

Kaiser Permanente

carl mcknight
Carl McKnight (PsyD '00)

Clinical Psychologist

United States Department of Veterans Affairs

Kati Morton
Kati Morton ('06, MA '09)


Happyable Inc.

Kori Novak
Kori D. Novak (MBA '15)

Chief Executive Officer

Toiyabe Indian Health Project

dee anna smith
Dee Anna Smith ('86)

Chief Executive Officer

Sarah Cannon

Ben Texter
Ben Texter ('06)


Digital Health Strategies

Amy Towner
Amy Towner (MBA '18, PKE 139)

Chief Executive Officer

Health Care Foundation for Ventura County

Andrew Weathers
Andrew Weathers ('98, MPP '00)

Contracts Management Unit Chief

World Trade Center Health Program, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Jerrod Writt
Jerrod D. Writt ('01)

Family Medicine

Kaiser Sacramento Railyard Medical Center

Lance Yuen
Lance L. Yuen (MBA '87)

Asia-Pacific President

Bayer Consumer Health